Republic of the Philippines


A world class and independent electric power industry regulator that equitably promotes and protects the interests of consumers and other stakeholders, to enable the delivery of long-term benefits that contribute to sustained economic growth and an improved quality of life.

Non and Taruc Bow Out from ERC

Commissioners Alfredo J. Non and Gloria Victoria Yap-Taruc of the Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) have completed their seven-year term and are retiring from government service effective 10 July 2018.  

“I am saddened by the retirement of two (2) of my colleagues and mentors in the Commission.  I have gained invaluable wisdom and insights from Commissioners Freddie and Amvic when I was just starting at ERC.  My transition period could not have been manageable without their help”, ERC Chairperson and CEO Agnes VST Devanadera stated.

Prior to his appointment at ERC, Commissioner Non worked with several private companies such as the SGV & Co., Radio Communications of the Philippines Inc. (RCPI), Philippine Associated Smelting & Refining Corp., Pacific Plans, Inc., Rapu Rapu Minerals, Inc. KPS Outsourcing, Inc. and as a Member of the Governance Committee of the Philippine Electricity Market Corporation (PEMC) Dispute Resolution Group.

Meanwhile, Commissioner Taruc began her career in the public sector as Branch Clerk of Court at the Office of the Executive Judge of the Regional Trial Court of Quezon City from 1987 to 1993, then as Public Prosecutor at the Department of Justice assigned in Quezon City from 1993 to 1998. She joined the Office of the Government Corporate Counsel (OGCC) from 2002 to 2008, then at the Office of Solicitor General (OSG) in 2008.  In 2009, she served as head of the Legal Audit team of the Philippine Electricity Market Corporation (PEMC) prior to her appointment as Commissioner at ERC in 2011.

Commissioners Non and Taruc were instrumental in the approval and implementation of significant regulatory policies, notably:  (1) Online COC Filing System; (2) Transitory Rules for the Implementation of Open Access and Retail Competition; (3) Amendments to the Rules for Prepaid Retail Electric Service Using a Prepaid Metering System; (4) Rules Enabling the Net-Metering Program for Renewable Energy; (5) Establishing a Pre-emptive Mitigation measure in the Wholesale Electricity Spot Market (WESM); (6) Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) Rules; (7) Competitive Selection Process (CSP) in the Procurement of Supply to the Captive Market; (8) Rules Governing the Issuance of Retail Electricity Supplier (RES) Licenses; (9) Rules Directing all DUS to Submit Documents on the Implementation of Meter Deposit Refund; (10) Revised Rules for Contestability; (11) Amended Rules to Govern the Refund of Meter Deposit; (12) Guidelines to Govern the Audit Process of Meter Deposit Refund; (13) Rules on Electronic Billing and Communications for Electricity Consumers; (14) Rules Governing the Setting of Regulated Solar Home System (SHS) Tariff for the Provision of Electricity Service for Rural Electrification by ECs; (15) Amendments to the Rules for the Distribution for Net Settlement Surplus (NSS); (16) Rules for Setting the Distribution System Loss Cap and Establishing Performance Incentive Scheme for Distribution Efficiency, among others.

“They have served the ERC well and their dedication and diligence is without question.  Their contribution to ERC in terms of pro-consumer policies and decisions will make its mark and should be emulated and carried on”, Chair Devanadera added.


© 2021 - Energy Regulatory Commission